Phew! I made it!

Like every working mom, it is difficult to manage the at home and at work life. I have spent some of my mommy life being a stay at home mom. Life brings change and I find myself back at work doing the juggling act. “What is more important?”, I ask myself that question a lot trying to prioritize. Inevitably, something gets left out. Tonight, it was my exercise. Something had to give unless I want to stay up to midnight and wake up at 6 to start it all over again. NO THANKS! I know there are some of you out there that can do it, but I cannot not. I must sleep if you want a functioning coherent person around. I chose to give my time to a fundraiser and made 2 gluten free dairy free pumpkin pies. Not to mention…I had to take care of the normal activities of cleaning the kitchen, making supper from scratch, being mommy and wife and everything else that comes with that. My husband and daughter have a severe gluten and dairy allergy, so meals are regularly made from scratch. That’s aside from the point of: I am sure many of you can relate to the balancing act. What do you do to balance life whether you are a working mom or stay at home mom or a little of both? I find myself resorting to creative activities to relieve stress and relax. I look forward to sharing these with you. Stay tuned.

My pies did turn out well, and if I have made you hungry….well here is your reward. My recipe.

Pumpkin Pie by Silvia Parker

1 can pumpkin

3/4 c raw sugar

2 eggs

1 t cinnamon

1/2 t nutmeg

1/2 t ginger

1/2 t salt

3/4 c rice milk or coconut milk

Mix ingredients together until combined. Yes, it is that easy. This makes enough for one pie. If you have a small pie pan, then you may need to have a small mini pie without a crust, so you can feel less guilty about scarfing down pie.

Pie Crust

1 1/2 c rice flour

1/2 c + 2T potato starch

1 egg

2 T apple cider vinegar

2 T cold water

3/4 c shortening

1 T sugar

1 t salt

Crust: Mix the ingredients together in a food processor until all are combined and stuck together. Press into 8 or 9 in pie pans. Makes 2 crusts, so you can one for later and freeze in a ziploc or make another pie if you’re up to it.

Bake Pumpkin Pie at 425 degrees for 15 minutes. Reduce Heat to 350 degrees and back for 35 to 40 minutes. Let cool. Serve with whipped topping or as desire.

Leave a comment